1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
  • Hover over to see the cities where patient screening was conducted

Mercy Ships et le Bénin

Le Bénin occupe une place toute particulière dans le cœur de Mercy Ships car c’est là que se trouve notre bureau Afrique ! En août 2016, l’Africa Mercy est revenu à Cotonou, au Bénin, pour la cinquième fois. C’était la première visite depuis 1997 et nous sommes impatients d’y retourner dans le futur. Pendant les dix mois de service, Mercy Ships a offert des soins médicaux et une aide au renforcement des capacités médicales, ainsi que des formations et des rénovations de bâtiments. Ces services ont non seulement bénéficié directement des milliers d’individus, mais ont également aidé à stimuler le renforcement des soins de santé nationaux pour l’ensemble du pays !

Mercy Ships et le Bénin

Le Bénin occupe une place toute particulière dans le cœur de Mercy Ships car c’est là que se trouve notre bureau Afrique ! En août 2016, l’Africa Mercy est revenu à Cotonou, au Bénin, pour la cinquième fois. C’était la première visite depuis 1997 et nous sommes impatients d’y retourner dans le futur. Pendant les dix mois de service, Mercy Ships a offert des soins médicaux et une aide au renforcement des capacités médicales, ainsi que des formations et des rénovations de bâtiments. Ces services ont non seulement bénéficié directement des milliers d’individus, mais ont également aidé à stimuler le renforcement des soins de santé nationaux pour l’ensemble du pays !

1,962

Professionnels formés

16,489

Soins dentaires

1,957

Chirurgies

La première et unique Chirurgien en Plastique Reconstructive du Bénin

En Afrique de l’Ouest, il est rare que les professionnels de la santé aient la possibilité d’acquérir une formation avancée, de pratiquer des technologies les plus avancées et de travailler avec des experts de leur domaine – c’est l’une des raisons pour laquelle tant de médecins partent pour l’Europe, l’Austalie ou les États-Unis. “Ce n’est pas qu’il soit difficile de garder vos compétences à jour”, commente Amy Jones, Chef de Projet de l’équipe Mercy Ships Renforcement des Capacités (MCB), “C’est impossible.”

Mais pour Dr Odry Agbessi la première chirurgien en plastique reconstructive du Bénin, rester au Bénin est une obligation – les chirurgiens peuvent partir, mais pas les patients. Bien que confrontée à de nombreux obstacles, le dévouement de Dr Odry à aider son people, et la pousse à aller de l’avant.

La première et unique Chirurgien en Plastique Reconstructive du Bénin

En Afrique de l’Ouest, il est rare que les professionnels de la santé aient la possibilité d’acquérir une formation avancée, de pratiquer des technologies les plus avancées et de travailler avec des experts de leur domaine – c’est l’une des raisons pour laquelle tant de médecins partent pour l’Europe, l’Austalie ou les États-Unis. “Ce n’est pas qu’il soit difficile de garder vos compétences à jour”, commente Amy Jones, Chef de Projet de l’équipe Mercy Ships Renforcement des Capacités (MCB), “C’est impossible.”

Mais pour Dr Odry Agbessi la première chirurgien en plastique reconstructive du Bénin, rester au Bénin est une obligation – les chirurgiens peuvent partir, mais pas les patients. Bien que confrontée à de nombreux obstacles, le dévouement de Dr Odry à aider son people, et la pousse à aller de l’avant.

Partenariat pour la santé

Partenariat pour la santé

Se rajoutant aux interventions médicales sur le terrain au Bénin, Mercy Ships travaille dur pour partager avec le personnel médical local des connaissances et des installations nécessaires pour continuer le travail après le départ de l’Africa Mercy de Cotonou.

Mercy Ships a atteint cet objectif en fournissant :

  • Programmes de formation médicale de haute qualité et reconnus internationalement et des opportunités de mentorat individuel
  • Suivi et mis en place de programmes tels que la checklist sur la sureté chirurgicale de l’Organisation mondiale de la Santé (OMS).
  • Base de données à utiliser dans la recherche et l’évaluation d’impact
  • Mentorat

    88 professionnels locaux ont participé à nos programmes de mentorat.

  • Formation

    1,874  personnes ont participé à nos différents cours pour approfondir leurs compétences dans leur domaine d’expertise.

  • Impact Durable

    Mercy Ships a développé des projets de renforcement des capacités pratiques et pertinents qui démontrent et transmettent des compétences et une attitude professionnelle et compatissante à chaque participant.

Qui sommes-nous ?

Fondée en 1978, Mercy Ships est une ONG qui, grâce aux professionnels bénévoles, propose des soins chirurgicaux gratuits à bord de navires-hôpitaux et participe à renforcer les systèmes de santé des pays africains qui nous acceuillent.

Formation médicale

Mercy Ships dispense gratuitement des formations destinées à renforcer les compétences des professionnels de la santé et les systèmes de santé nationaux. L’enseignement est spécifique aux besoins uniques de notre pays hôte et est planifié en collaboration avec le Ministère national de la Santé.

Comment aidons-nous ?

Mercy Ships fait équipe avec le pays hôte et les bénévoles pour répondre aux besoins chirurgicaux immédiats du pays. Ce travail collaboratif prendra également en compte la formation des professionnels de santé nationaux et la construction d’infrastructures de santé. Cette approche permet de renforcer de façon durable le développement sanitaire du pays hôte.

Qui sommes-nous ?

Fondée en 1978, Mercy Ships est une ONG qui, grâce aux professionnels bénévoles, propose des soins chirurgicaux gratuits à bord de navires-hôpitaux et participe à renforcer les systèmes de santé des pays africains qui nous acceuillent.

Formation médicale

Mercy Ships dispense gratuitement des formations destinées à renforcer les compétences des professionnels de la santé et les systèmes de santé nationaux. L’enseignement est spécifique aux besoins uniques de notre pays hôte et est planifié en collaboration avec le Ministère national de la Santé.

Comment aidons-nous ?

Mercy Ships fait équipe avec le pays hôte et les bénévoles pour répondre aux besoins chirurgicaux immédiats du pays. Ce travail collaboratif prendra également en compte la formation des professionnels de santé nationaux et la construction d’infrastructures de santé. Cette approche permet de renforcer de façon durable le développement sanitaire du pays hôte.

Nous serions ravis d’avoir de vos nouvelles

Rejoignez-nous dans nos efforts pour améliorer l’accès aux soins chirurgicaux, obstétricaux et anesthésiques sûrs en Afrique.

  • Ce champ n’est utilisé qu’à des fins de validation et devrait rester inchangé.

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
  • Hover over to see the cities where patient screening was conducted
  • Zoom in and click to see the cities where patient screening was conducted

Mercy Ships and Benin

Benin has a special place in the heart of Mercy Ships and is the home to our very own Africa Bureau! The Africa Mercy’s return to Cotonou, Benin in August 2016 was Mercy Ships fifth visit to the nation since 1997 and we are anxious to return again someday. During the most recent ten month field service, Mercy Ships offered direct medical services and medical capacity building assistance, as well as trainings and renovations. Services not only benefited thousands of individuals directly, but also boosted national healthcare development and the entire nation!

Mercy Ships and Benin

Benin has a special place in the heart of Mercy Ships and is the home to our very own Africa Bureau! The Africa Mercy’s return to Cotonou, Benin in August 2016 was Mercy Ships fifth visit to the nation since 1997 and we are anxious to return again someday. During the most recent ten month field service, Mercy Ships offered direct medical services and medical capacity building assistance, as well as trainings and renovations. Services not only benefited thousands of individuals directly, but also boosted national healthcare development and the entire nation!

1,962

Professionals trained

16,489

Dental procedures

1,957

Surgeries

Benin’s First Reconstructive Plastic Surgeon

In West Africa, it’s rare that medical professionals have the opportunity to gain advanced training, practice on the newest technology, and liaise with experts in their field – it’s one reason so many doctors leave for Europe, Australia, or the States. “It’s not that it’s hard to keep your skills updated here,” comments Amy Jones, Project Manager for the Mercy Ships Medical Capacity Building (MCB) Team, “It’s impossible.”

But for Benin’s first reconstructive plastic surgeon, Dr. Odry Agbessi, staying in Benin is a must – surgeons may leave, but patients cannot. Though faced with numerous obstacles, Dr. Odry’s dedication to helping her people pushes her onward.

Benin’s First Reconstructive Plastic Surgeon

In West Africa, it’s rare that medical professionals have the opportunity to gain advanced training, practice on the newest technology, and liaise with experts in their field – it’s one reason so many doctors leave for Europe, Australia, or the States. “It’s not that it’s hard to keep your skills updated here,” comments Amy Jones, Project Manager for the Mercy Ships Medical Capacity Building (MCB) Team, “It’s impossible.”

But for Benin’s first reconstructive plastic surgeon, Dr. Odry Agbessi, staying in Benin is a must – surgeons may leave, but patients cannot. Though faced with numerous obstacles, Dr. Odry’s dedication to helping her people pushes her onward.

Partnership for Health

Partnership for Health

As well as delivering direct medical interventions on the ground in Benin, Mercy Ships worked hard to equip local medical staff with the knowledge and facilities needed to continue the work after the Africa Mercy left Cotonou.

Mercy Ships met that goal by providing:

  • High-quality and internationally recognized medical training programs and one-on-one mentoring opportunities
  • Support and feedback for the government on programs such as the World Health Organization (WHO) Surgical Safety Checklist
  • Data collection for use in research and impact evaluation
  • Mentoring

    88 local professionals participated in our mentoring programs.

  • Training

    1,874 people participated in our various courses to further their skills in their area of expertise.

  • Lasting Impact

    Mercy Ships has developed practical and relevant capacity-building projects that demonstrate and impart knowledge, skills, and a compassionate, professional attitude to each participant.

Who We Are

Founded in 1978, Mercy Ships is a global faith-based charity that uses hospital ships and volunteer professionals to deliver free specialized surgical care and medical training to build the local healthcare systems with our host nations, focusing in Africa.

Medical Training

Mercy Ships offers free training designed to empower healthcare workers and strengthen local healthcare systems. Instruction is specific to the unique needs of our host nation and planned in collaboration with the National Ministry of Health.

How We Help

Mercy Ships comes alongside our host nation with volunteer professionals to address the immediate surgical needs of a nation, simultaneously training local healthcare workers, and collaboratively building healthcare infrastructure. This approach empowers our host’s sustainable progress and continued development.

Who We Are

Founded in 1978, Mercy Ships is a global faith-based charity that uses hospital ships and volunteer professionals to deliver free specialized surgical care and medical training to build the local healthcare systems with our host nations, focusing in Africa.

Medical Training

Mercy Ships offers free training designed to empower healthcare workers and strengthen local healthcare systems. Instruction is specific to the unique needs of our host nation and planned in collaboration with the National Ministry of Health.

How We Help

Mercy Ships comes alongside our host nation with volunteer professionals to address the immediate surgical needs of a nation, simultaneously training local healthcare workers, and collaboratively building healthcare infrastructure. This approach empowers our host’s sustainable progress and continued development.

Ask Us Anything

We are excited to share our story with you. We believe that a successful collaboration is based on mutual trust. By being transparent with local media and organizations and inviting them to learn more about our mission, we hope to build strong partnerships that will help us achieve our goals.

For this purpose, we have selected for you the most important facts and figures about Mercy Ships.

If you have any questions, please contact us using this form. Our team will get back to you as soon as possible.

 Get in Touch

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Please be aware, we’re not taking any referrals through this form. Referrals through messages or email will not be received. Any other message we will try to respond to ASAP.

Ask Us Anything

We are excited to share our story with you. We believe that a successful collaboration is based on mutual trust. By being transparent with local media and organizations and inviting them to learn more about our mission, we hope to build strong partnerships that will help us achieve our goals.

For this purpose, we have selected for you the most important facts and figures about Mercy Ships.

If you have any questions, please contact us using this form. Our team will get back to you as soon as possible.

 Get in Touch

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Please be aware, we’re not taking any referrals through this form. Referrals through messages or email will not be received. Any other message we will try to respond to ASAP.